Tag: Adult fiction

Feature Friday: Edge of Truth

Feature Friday: Edge of Truth

Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to. This week, my selection is… Expected Publication: May 30th, 2017 by Harlequin Books Summary per Goodreads… Tensions sizzle in this electrifying novel guaranteed to capture your heart and take your breath away. Fans of Julie Garwood, Suzanne Brockmann and Jayne Ann Krentz will devour this action-packed, emotionally stunning tour de force, where every page reveals another damning secret and daring gamble. Rotting in an African dungeon is the last place journalist Tess Newell expected to find herself. As she’s held hostage by […]

Divider

Feature Friday: Dating You Hating You

Feature Friday: Dating You Hating You

Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to. This week, my selection is… Expected Publication: June 6th, 2017 by Gallery Books Summary per Goodreads… All’s fair in love and work. The first standalone romance by New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Christina Lauren (Beautiful Bastard) is a sexy, compulsively readable romantic comedy that dives headlong into the thrill and doubt of modern love. Despite the odds against them from an embarrassing meet-awkward at a mutual friend’s Halloween party, Carter and Evie immediately hit it off. Even the realization […]

Divider

The Bachelor Auction

The Bachelor Auction

You just can’t go wrong with Rachel Van Dyken. I’ve read a few of her books. Unfortunately, not all of my reviews survived the migration from Blogger to WordPress, but that’s a different blog post. The point is, I’ve enjoyed all her books. And the Bachelor Auction was no exception.   First lines: He’s senile. Last night he asked if I believed in unicorns.   The Bachelor Auction is a modern day take on the Cinderella fairy tale. And while Van Dyken takes some liberties here and there, changing things a little to make the story work, it was very […]

Divider

Deception Island

Deception Island

What can I say about Brynn Kelly’s novel, Deception Island? Well, maybe: Holy Cow! No, that doesn’t cover it. It seriously Blew. Me. Away. I didn’t have any real expectations going into the novel, mainly because I’ve never read the author’s work before. I definitely didn’t expect to love the book as much as I did. I had trouble putting it down and cracked open an energy drink at one in the morning so I could stay awake and finish it.   The plot was unique and had several twists and turns throughout. Yes, I picked up on some clues […]

Divider

The Ex Trials

The Ex Trials

A feel-good romance about forgiveness and second chances. If you are looking for an independent female protagonist, and a strong, swoony leading man, Casey and Cole of The Ex Trials by Heather Topham Wood will likely fit the bill.   There is a nice subplot in the story which gives it more meat. Although the secret Casey is keeping is easy to figure out, there’s enough tension to keep readers flipping through pages to get to the end.   As far as mechanics go, there were some issues, such as typos, wrong word usage, and awkward wording. And there were […]

Divider

The Billionaire’s Ballet

The Billionaire’s Ballet

I love it when I find an author who writes consistently good books. The type of author that, when given the chance to read/review their work, I don’t hesitate to say yes because I know it’ll be a book that will not only be written well, I’m almost guaranteed to enjoy it.   I know Deanna Roy from her Forever Series, which I read and reviewed. (Unfortunately, some of my reviews were lost in the shuffle when I switched from Blogger to WordPress, but you can still check out the few that survived the transition.) Even though I knew she […]

Divider

Fixed Up

Fixed Up

I really liked the concept of Fixed Up by Maddie Jane. It’s the author’s debut and described as a romantic comedy. It’s romantic, but I wouldn’t list it as a comedy, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing—unless a reader is looking specifically for a ROM/COM. Then they might be disappointed in the lack of humorous elements. That being said, I don’t think it disappoints as a romance.   The DIY angle was a unique one (at least to me). I liked that it focused on female DIY-ers. We (females) are often the main decorators, organizers, and so forth of our home. […]

Divider

The Virgin: Revenge by J. Dallas

The Virgin: Revenge by J. Dallas

“The Virgin: Revenge” was a cute, fun read. I enjoyed the premise of the book. A grown-up version of jilted teen looking for revenge for past transgressions of her summer “boyfriend” and the person she sees as the one who ruined her family.   I liked the characters. They were done well. Not great. There was definitely room for more depth. Yes, the reader was told that Shannon was out for revenge. That she blamed Drake. That she hated him, loved him, wanted him, despised him, had all these conflicting emotions swirling through her—but it was never really shown in […]

Divider

Searching for Someday

Searching for Someday

I really enjoyed “Searching for Someday”—much more than I thought I would. I primarily read young adult and new adult books since those are the genres I write, but this was a nice change up.   I loved the idea of the “touch” and the matchmaking company combined. It was a cute idea and the author pulled it off wonderfully without making it too cheesy.   I liked the characters, although sometimes I found Kate’s interactions with Slade a little too uppity, but it really fit the story so it was easy to overlook and I still loved Kate. She […]

Divider

Happy Birthday Copper Girl!!

Happy Birthday Copper Girl!!

COPPER GIRL by Jennifer Allis Provost! Sara had always been careful. She never spoke of magic, never associated with those suspected of handling magic, never thought of magic, and never, ever, let anyone see her mark. After all, the last thing she wanted was to end up missing, like her father and brother. Then, a silver elf pushed his way into Sara’s dream, and her life became anything but ordinary. Jennifer’s preferred place for you to purchase it? The Spiral Bookcase. It’s an awesome independent bookstore in Philadelphia, and the proprietress, Ann, is brilliant. Tell her Jennifer sent you.  However, you can […]

Divider