Tag: Contemporary

Girl in Snow

Girl in Snow

Girl in Snow is the debut by Danya Kukafka. It’s labeled an adult thriller. However, I think it is suitable as a mature young adult read, as well, since two of the main characters are young adults. When I was contacted by Simon and Schuster and asked if I wanted a galley, I debated. I love books. Well, reading them, specifically. And I enjoy finding new authors. But I had so much of my own writing and editing to work on, that I really didn’t feel I had the time to devote to reviewing. Then, I read the synopsis. The […]

Divider

Feature Friday: What To Say Next

Feature Friday: What To Say Next

  Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to.   This week, my selection is…   Expected publication: July 11th, 2017 by Delacorte Press   Summary per Goodreads… From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell. Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world. KIT: I don’t […]

Divider

Feature Friday: The Impossible Vastness ..

Feature Friday: The Impossible Vastness of Us

Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to. This week, my selection is… Expected Publication: June 27th, 2017 by Harlequin Teen Summary per Goodreads… I know how to watch my back. I’m the only one that ever has. India Maxwell hasn’t just moved across the country—she’s plummeted to the bottom rung of the social ladder. It’s taken years to cover the mess of her home life with a veneer of popularity. Now she’s living in one of Boston’s wealthiest neighborhoods with her mom’s fiancé and his daughter, Eloise. Thanks to […]

Divider

The One Memory of Flora Banks

The One Memory of Flora Banks

It’s hard for me to gather my thoughts and piece this review together. The One Memory of Flora Banks is the first book I’ve read by Emily Barr. It’s her YA debut, although she’s written many books for adults. First line: The music is too loud, the room too crowded, and it feels as though there are more people in this house than any human being could possibly know. The story is… different. The writing is different, as well. To be honest, when I first began the book I wasn’t sure I’d be able to finish. It is just written […]

Divider

Romeo and What’s Her Name

Romeo and What’s Her Name

Romeo and What’s Her Name by Shani Petroff was full of cuteness, from the cover, to the title, to the story. Yet, I found that while the story was a cute, sweet romance (sort of. I’ll get to that), it touched on some deeper issues too, like the importance of friendship and learning about and accepting oneself. Emily was a great character. She was funny and smart and most importantly: she wasn’t perfect. She was relatable. One of Emily’s quirks is that she babbles when she’s nervous. Oh, wow, can I relate to that. I felt like I was reading about […]

Divider

Feature Friday: The Fashion Committee

Feature Friday: The Fashion Committee

  Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to.   This week, my selection is…   May 23rd, 2017 by Viking Books for Young Readers   Summary per Goodreads…   -The Fashion Committee is another winner by one of my all time favorite authors.—Meg Cabot, New York Times bestselling author of the The Princess Diaries and Mediator series Charlie Dean is a style-obsessed girl who eats, sleeps, and breathes fashion. John Thomas-Smith is a boy who forges metal sculptures in his garage and couldn’t care less about clothes. Both […]

Divider

Feature Friday: Dear Reader

Feature Friday: Dear Reader

  Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to.   This week, my selection is…   Expected publication: May 9th, 2017 by Flatiron Books   Summary per Goodreads…     Gilmore Girls with magical realism! Dear Reader is an original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, as a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life     For seventeen-year-old Flannery Fields, the only respite from the plaid-skirted mean girls at Sacred Heart High School at is her […]

Divider

The Boyfriend App

The Boyfriend App

I picked up The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise on a whim. I was browsing my local library’s Overdrive account, looking for another book, and it popped up in the “suggested for you” area. It sounded fun and different so I decided to give it a try. It’s the first book of Ms. Sise’s that I’ve read. I was expecting a cutesy, swoony romance. I was pleasantly surprised when the story turned out to be about a high school girl who was somewhat of a hacking genius. Awesome. Yes, there was a romance, but it was surprisingly light. The majority […]

Divider

Feature Friday: After You Left

Feature Friday: After You Left

Feature Friday is a weekly post in which I highlight an upcoming release that I’m particularly looking forward to.   This week, my selection is…   After You Left Expected publication: April 1st, 2017 by Lake Union Publishing   Goodread’s Synopsis:   You want to know what the worst thing is? It’s not the embarrassment, or the looks on people’s faces when I tell them what happened. It isn’t the pain of him not being there—loneliness is manageable. The worst thing is not knowing why.   When Justin walks out on Alice on their honeymoon, with no explanation apart from a […]

Divider

Tell Me Three Things

Tell Me Three Things

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum… well, I’m going to tell you three things.   First, I almost didn’t read the book because the anniversary of my dad’s death was just seventeen days ago, (at the time I’m writing this review) and I didn’t know if I was emotionally up to reading a story about a girl who’d lost her mother. I wasn’t sure I’d be able to review it objectively. I’m so, so glad I read the book. Even though Jessie is sixteen and I’m, well, not, I could still relate to her. Her character is real. She’s […]

Divider

Love Me Tender

Love Me Tender

Love Me Tender, by Ally Blake, is the second book in the Cinderella Project Series. I read and reviewed the first book, Kiss Me Quick, which I enjoyed. I think, however, I enjoyed this title a little more. It had more of a Rom/Com feel to it, which I really liked.   On why Serafina wasn’t invested in finding “The One…”   Marcy joke that her ovaries were merely dormant. That one day they’d erupt and the explosion would be so astronomical it would block out the sun.   Serafina and Murdoch were interesting characters. I found them easy to […]

Divider

New Release

New Release

  I’m thrilled to participate in the blitz for  the first book in Rachel Van Dyken’s: The Bachelors of Arizona. I love her books and writing style and can’t wait to get my hands on The Bachelor Auction! And check out that cover! It’s simple, but the colors just pop.   Title: The Bachelor Auction Author: Rachel Van Dyken Series: The Bachelors of Arizona #1 On Sale: October 4, 2016 Publisher: Forever Formats: eBook Price: $4.99 USD (eBook) Find the Book on Goodreads Find The Series on Goodread    Cinderella never had to deal with this crap. Jane isn’t entirely […]

Divider